top of page

Hatching & Emotion.

Updated: Jun 21, 2023

This was an unexpected project that developed out of nowhere, it quickly became a major focus of mine, and ended up quite nice. Even this blog post was an unexpected change of plans and not even on my scheduled list of posts for this year. Like many things in my life, it quickly became an experience that I greatly value.



The project first began as a drawing practice to help me develop and reinforce my ability to make various lines, hatch marks, stippling, and ink work. As I spent more time making the initial/base drawings for the Hatching Grids and Emotions Grids I had an idea pop into my head. That idea is "What if I turn these drawings into fractals?". I let that Idea simmer in my head for a week or two and then decided to pull the trigger and dive all in.



The results of turning the original drawings into fractals turned out better than expected, and I could not help but feel proud for the work I made. It may not be the best of the best, but it really acted as a breakthrough to a fear I have had regarding making my art. (I will be talking about my fear of making art in a very soon post.) It gave me the motivation to completely commit to my original idea for this site and what it could be and what it could potentially be. I still have more Hatching Grid and Emotion Grid fractals to post in my gallery, but this overall experience has been a great start to a fulfilling future.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page